Sports, Celebrity, Tech, Entertainment, Lifestyle, News, Events and Gossip...

Friday, 26 January 2018

Breaking: See The 8 New Bills President Buhari Signed into Law

Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari has approved to eight bills passed by the National Assembly into law.

Ita Enang who is the Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly matters, briefed State House correspondents yesterday about the new Bills signed into law by Mr President. 

Prominent among the bills signed into law is the Legislative Houses (Power and Privileges), Act 2018. The Act grants members of Legislative Houses in the National Assembly and State Houses of Assembly immunity from litigation for actions taken in plenary or committee proceedings of the House or committee. 

According to Enang, the law is meant to strengthen the power of the legislators to carry out their legislative functions. .
The powers include powers to summon any person to appear before her, give evidence, including power of an officer of the legislative House to arrest any person who commits an offence against the Act. 

Another bill signed into law was the National Institute of Legislative Studies (Amendment) Act, 2018. Another law the President assented to was the National Senior Citizens Centre Act, 2018. The Act establishes the National Senior Citizens Centre in the country to cater for the needs of senior citizens. 

Mr. Enang said other bills signed include the Legislative Houses (Powers and Privileges), 2018, the National Institute of Legislative Studies (Amendment) Act, 2018, and Avoidance of Double Taxation Agreement between the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the Kingdom of Spain (Domestication and Enforcement ) Act, 2018.

For latest news updates, follow us on Twitter and Instagram @mntrendsblog. You can also like us on Facebook "Mntrends Blog".

No comments:

Post a Comment