Sports, Celebrity, Tech, Entertainment, Lifestyle, News, Events and Gossip...

Tuesday, 2 January 2018


While the rest of England are on the drawing board with the sole aim of dethroning Manchester City, last season winners Chelsea have shown what it means to be defending champions.

image of Chelsea players celebrating a goal

Enjoying such a blistering season long form, one would expect Man City's players to prove their mantle on individual level. This was not the case however as Kevin De Bruyne lost to Chelsea's Hazard in the battle of supremacy that effectively ended City's dominance. 

Belgian international and Chelsea FC play maker Eden Hazard who had an outstanding has been crowned the Belgian footballer of the year award ahead of former Chelsea team-mates Kevin De Bruyne and Romelu Lukaku, who were voted second and third respectively.

Image of Eden Hazard

It was a fierce battle for supremacy in the pitch as these three Belgians were instrumental to their respective side's achievement last year.

However in the eyes of Belgian supporters, Hazard was the overwhelming favorite as he received a total of 10,280 votes to finish ahead of De Bruyne with 4710 votes. United's Romelu Lukaku with 3,223 votes took the third position.


The Red Devils were the first European side to qualify for this summer’s finals in Russia and Hazard played an integral role, scoring six goals and captaining them throughout the campaign.

For latest news updates, follow us on Twitter and Instagram @mntrendsblog. You can also like us on Facebook "Mntrends Blog" or better still Subscribe to our blog below. 

No comments:

Post a Comment